Writing Advice

When Life Gives You Lemons… Ignore Them

So sorry for my absence. Writing in my novel is the only thing I’ve had time for lately, since wedding planning has taken up pretty much ALL of my time. Thankfully, the actual planning part is over. Now, I have moved on to stressing about every little thing coming in on time, and praying that everything that needs to be fixed WILL be fixed before my wedding on the 27th of next month.

So yes. That means I have returned.

On the subject of absence, although this time I had a legitimate excuse, 99% of the time I don’t. It’s usually ‘Dan and Phil released a new Sims 4 video’ turning into ‘bingeing all of their videos until I’ve seen them all, even though I have already seen every one multiple times’, or something to that effect.

Which brings me to the question: why do we procrastinate? We know there is something that needs to be done… and we aren’t doing it. Why? Sometimes I will sit there in guilt, muttering to myself how I should get a move on… once I finish a knitting project. Sometimes I use the excuse of a ‘major life event’ to excuse why I have been ‘too tired to write’. But why procrastinate?

Today, I want to take the top reasons why people procrastinate, and find ways to combat them. Let me know in the comments if you find yourself in any of these categories.

#1: “Because we’re lazy.”

Yup. I said it. You are lazy. We’re all lazy. Everyone who ever existed is lazy at some point or another… and some more than others. We as humans are flawed. We already have jobs, families, and other responsibilities to look after; why shouldn’t we put off writing until another day, when you actually have time?

Because you’ll never have ‘time’. Time is just an excuse made up by our lazy minds in order to give in to that side of you. You know, the one that wants to lay on the couch, in sweatpants and a stained t-shirt, eating potato chips and watching television.

You always have time (except for during work, school, and meals). Make time for your writing you lazy bums. Set aside the same time every day, so that everyone knows that is when you will write without interruptions. Otherwise your lazy side will come up with excuses. And we have heard enough of those.

#2: “Because Dan and Phil exist.”

Yes, I am well aware.

They will still be there when you finish your writing. So get a move on. You will be able to pay full attention to our loveable British icons if you can finish your writing before hand.

#3: “Well, I already hit my word count for the day…”

Yes. I am sure you did. But do you spend spare time, doing nothing? Laying on your bed, staring at the ceiling? Complaining about there not being anything good on the television?

These are the perfect moments to get your writing done. get more of it. Don’t treat writing as a chore; fill up as much time as you can with writing. Get that novel done faster. You want to be published, right? Then why stare at a ceiling when you could finish that chapter?

 

#4: “I don’t want to right now.”

*spits out drink*

Literally every writer goes through this. You of all people would’ve heard about this already… how could you be saying this, when one of the most important things to do in writing is to write even when you aren’t in the mood?

Look it up. Almost every good writer has said this at some point or another. Everyone says this all the time, to the point where I almost didn’t include this in the list.

#5: “Life is giving me lemons right now.”

I see. Here’s something I should’ve started this article with, considering this piece right here is what inspired this article, but I decided to leave it at the end for dramatic effect.

When life gives you lemons… ignore them.

That’s right. Ignore them. I lied before; I shouldn’t have used wedding planning as an excuse to not be writing. Yes, it’s hard and consumes a lot of my time… but there were moments where I had time to write. Yes, I was exhausted. Yes, I was frazzled, living life by the amount of caffeine in my drink. I could barely form cohesive sentences outside of my head.

But I want to be a novelist. And I can’t do that by letting life get in the way.

Unless a family member/someone you are close to has died, do NOT step away from your writing. Taking a one day break after a week of writing is one thing. Taking a one month break however, is not preferable. Do me a favor, and ignore those lemons (in this case, the excuses you come up with) and get a few steps closer to finishing your writing.

You will thank me for this later.

Leave a Reply

